view current print edition




Dallas Fresh Food Association first board is elected

The Dallas Fresh Foods Association has established its first board of directors.

Dale Long of the North Texas Food Bank is the association’s first-ever president; Lucian LaBarba of Ben E Keith Co., is the philanthropy chair; Steve Monson of Robinson Fresh is the membership chair; and Beth Keeton of DMA Solutions is the marketing chair. Two chair positions are occupied by members of The Grinstead Group from Dallas: Bobby Grinstead is the technology chair and Michael Grinstead is the treasurer.Michael-GrinsteadMichael Grinstead

The Produce News reported in September that The Grinstead Group was among seven in the Dallas area to create the organization.

Michael Grinstead indicated in September that the association will be open to companies handling any fresh foods. This includes not only fresh fruits and vegetables but suppliers in the business of items like poultry, meat and dairy.

Grinstead said the Dallas group is using the Houston Fresh Fruit & Vegetable Association as its model.

Association participants are not required to be based in the Dallas-Fort Worth metroplex but would be expected to be regular attendees to the bi-monthly luncheons.